Six winners: two AIMMS PhD Awards

During the AIMMS Annual meeting there are two competitions for the young researchers: a competition with oral lectures and a poster session with three prizes for the best posters.

During the poster session which was very crowded on M0 with 120 participants and 35 posters, a jury (dr. Sanne Abeln, dr. Jan Kooter, dr. Eelco Ruijter, dr. Rob van Spanning) assessed the posters and discussed with the PhD students. They selected three of them as winners:

Johan van HeerdenChimed Jansen en Sabrina de Munnik received the AIMMS Poster Prizes!

For the AIMMS PhD award a short list of 6 PhD students (out of 16 on the long list) got the chance to present their results during the annual meeting. The presentations were of very high quality! 
The public could vote for the best presentation and this e-polling was caried out under supervision of dr. Maikel Wijtmans on iPads, iPhones, laptops, Blackberries etc.

The deans of both faculties (announced as 'founding fathers of AIMMS' by prof dr Nico Vermeulen), awarded the prizes and surprisingly: they awarded two PhD students for the best oral contribution! The scoring of the e-polling was stastically equal, so both Jan Simon Boerma andIngeborg E.Iping Petterson got the AIMMS PhD Award (certificate & congres visit)

Six winners? indeed, above these 5 PhD students, a new award initiated after the first lecture by prof dr Bas Teusink was given to a master student for the best questions during the discussions:Yves Revi

Tags: Boerma, J.